Florence Nightingale Foundation Clinical Professors of Nursing/Midwifery

The Statement of Purpose of the Foundation is that, as a living memorial to Florence Nightingale, it advances the study of nursing and midwifery and promotes excellence in practice.  It does this by conferring scholarships which enable nurses and midwives to extend their knowledge and skills to meet the changing needs of patient and healthcare.

The Foundation now has  a network of Florence Nightingale Foundation Clinical Professors of Nursing and Midwifery. Each Clinical Professor has a joint appointment with a university and NHS organisation  or Health Board.

This network is geographically separate but with a common purpose to pursue clinical research  knowledge and work systematically to disseminate research findings, encourage the adoption and implementation of research evidence thereby promoting good practice in patient care. They also create nursing and midwifery clinical academic capability and capacity in their organisations.

They will support this year’s  FNF Research Interns.

Our Clinical Professors

  • Professor Christi Deaton
  • Professor Michelle Briggs
  • Professor Debbie Carrick-Sen
  • Professor Candy McCabe
  • Professor Vivien Coates
  • Professor Bridget Johnston
  • Professor Fiona Nolan
  • Professor Natalie Pattison